the pain and the agony and the joy

So I’m really glad that God keeps challenging me to be more like Him…my humanity isn't so excited about the pain that is often a part of that process. The good news (from the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe) is that although God isn’t safe, He’s always and eternally good. Sometimes, that is all I can hold onto!

Last night I went grocery shopping…I only spent $3.51 on groceries…I sometimes wonder what I am eating. I did get some groceries last weekend at Wal*Mart, and I bought a lot of stuff at the beginning of the semester that I am using now. It just seems odd…oh well. I’m not starving, and that’s a good thing!

I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to keep my secret until I go home for Christmas. I’m guessing not, since I almost blurted it out to my mom on the phone four or five times the other night. I almost just typed it here…we’ll see.

Let me just say that I do not like legal issues, especially not when they come in the form of a take home final from my Teachers and the Law class. The good news is that it is one more final I won’t have to stick around to take here during finals week. It’s just not pleasant in the process. I think I’m about 1/3 of the way done, and it’s due tomorrow. (Just the questions are 5 pages long, if that gives you any ideas about the absolute joy of this little project!)

I feel like I have something more to say, but I’m not sure what. Oh yeah, church this morning was fantastic. It was good to be back in church since I wasn’t in a church service at all last week, and the weeks before weren’t at Tempe Nazarene. I liked the other weeks a lot too (Mexicali and home!) but it’s nice to feel like I belong a little here. This morning was the finale of Purpose Driven Life/40 Days of Purpose, so it started with a pancake breakfast during Sunday School, then, instead of a sermon, we watched 13 people get baptized. It was so sweet; I forget how great baptismal services are! The celebration and excitement at them must be just a taste of the celebration in heaven when someone finds Jesus! How blessed I was to be a part!

woke up to rain this morning…another great blessing. It did make me a little homesick though.

Leave a Reply

