Girls’ Retreat and Hail

I just got back from the Chi Alpha Girls’ Retreat in Prescott. Besides being wonderful, it was also pretty cold. I am afraid that my blood really is thinning from my time in Phoenix, and I’m not happy about it. It was in the low 30s at night and low 50s during the day, and while I was climbing the rock wall, it was also hailing. That was quite the experience…my feet felt like they were going to slip off, and my hands felt like the ice they were grabbing on the handholds. It was a lot harder than I thought it would be, but I’m glad I did it. I would definitely do it again in better weather.

I’m starting to see that God has been working in my life a lot in the past few weeks, and it’s encouraging. I’m not sure how to explain it, but I am beginning to understand that celebrating His work in my life is really important, and it makes Him look good! That’s a good thing too! I am sooooo thankful for His grace and patience as He deals with me. I couldn’t do it otherwise.

It was so nice to be out in nature. It smelled like Oregon to me, like family reunion and good memories. Granted, it wasn’t quite as pretty as Oregon or Washington, but it was prettier than Phoenix. We roasted marshmallows in an indoor fireplace and made s’mores…yum!

Tomorrow, I will hopefully get to see a few of “my kids”- Jake and Paige- and their parents. Yeah!

Oh yeah- can’t remember if I posted this or not, but I’m too lazy to check in any case- my meeting with the Dean resulted in a wait and see sort of deal. He has to talk to another dean (of the graduate college) to see if they will bend the rules for me. I guess it’s up in the air, but at least I’ve done what I needed to do.

Funny story from school on Friday- I told a student that what she was doing was not what she should be doing, and she raised her voice quite a bit to respond to me. Another little girl immediately piped up with, “You shouted at Ms. Olson. Don’t shout at the beautiful teacher!” This is the same girl that told me one day, “Ms. Olson, you’re wonderful, you’re pretty, you’re beautiful.”

I’ve been really encouraged by my practicum student and how well she is doing, especially with reading sight words and picking them out. She is also reading simple books much better. However, I gave her a few spelling assessments on Friday, and she pretty much bombed one of them. The other one went better, and she seemed to enjoy the making words activity, which made me happy since I’d specifically made the letters for the activity the letters of her name. She got to spell her name at the end, using all the letters, and it was good to see her enjoying it.

I taught a lesson on comprehension- connecting- and it went well. I taught it to a class and a half since a sub didn’t show up and we had half of another teacher’s class in with my class, but they almost all did really well. They seemed to enjoy and understand the concept by the time I finished. A good teaching day all in all. Monday we will have a sub for the morning…should be interesting. I only have 5.5 more hours that I have to be in the classroom, and I’ll do four of them on Monday. Yeah for being almost done.

Ok, enough blabbing for now. I miss my family. I can’t wait to see them! I miss my friends. I love them all. enough random thoughts. thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

