It’s too early in my teaching experience to explain sex

Yeah for subs…or not always. Today my intern class had a sub, and although she had great control of the kids, unfortunately, her accent was so strong that they couldn’t really understand her as she read aloud for 20 minutes. They survived it, though, and so did I.

After they used the restroom after PE, three girls came to me and told me that there was something icky in the bathroom. I assumed bodily fluids or something like that, but it was something written on the wall. After a few minutes of all three of them talking, one finally said, “It said ‘I love you, you love me, let’s have sex.'” (Imagine the shocked gasps of all three of them.) Then, one of them just HAD to ask, “What’s sex?” I was groaning inside, wondering why I had to get that question after only three months in the classroom and feeling unprepared in general, when another one said, “It’s what boys and girls do….in bed.” The girl who asked quickly understood and said, “Ohh, I know now.” Then they went and sat down.

I also had an interesting experience with reading aloud today. Maybe someone can shed some light on it for me. I was going to read the book “Wolf!” to the class when one girl came up to me and said, “I can’t see wolves. Another girl and I my brother can’t see wolves. It’s bad luck.” I asked about what she did during the last lesson I taught on Friday since in it, I read the book “The Three Little Wolves and the Big Bad Pig,” and she said that they didn’t look. I wasn’t totally sure what to do, but I told them to either find a book from their book bag to read or not look at the pictures. It wasn’t a perfect solution because they read aloud and were somewhat distracting, but I didn’t have much of an option. I was imagining getting sued or something for forcing a kid to do something against their cultural beliefs.

I had an interesting conversation with a friend. She is planning to send me a few of her piano students while she is out of the country next semester, and she was giving me the details of it. I’m a little nervous, but mostly excited. It’s been awhile since I have taught, but I miss it. I miss teaching one on one. I’ll have to print out my policies sheet and all that fun stuff…

Leave a Reply

