wow! it’s been awhile

since I updated my lovely lj. A lot has happened in the past few months, but don’t worry- I won’t try to catch up. I’ll just say that Mexicali was the best trip yet with a great team, and campmeeting was life-changing. (Maybe God was/is life-changing, and He did it at camp. That’s a little more accurate.) I am so blessed and so undeserving. The more blessed I am, the more I realize how undeserving I am. Maybe that is a blessing in itself.

As much as we like to think that we know about God- and He has revealed a lot about Himself- I am realizing that there is so much more. The mystery of God can be frustrating, exasperating, and maddening if I try to figure it out. However, the more I acknowledge and enter in to the mystery of God, the more I can enjoy and relax in discovering who He is. Maybe…when easy answers give way to hard questions, God’s character shines brighter. Maybe, in exploring the questions we learn more about Him and ourselves.

For someone like me who likes to have it all figured out, this is not always easy to remember. Neither is it meant to negate the cardinal truths of God’s character that He has clearly revealed in His Word; He never changes. It simply pushes me further into those truths than ever before.

I am amazed at His ability to enable me to delight in the mystery.

Leave a Reply

