oh, to not be a grammar jerk….and something worth reading

To start with, here’s my latest favorite quote from Prince Caspian:

“You come of the Lord Adam and the Lady Eve,” said Aslan.  “And that is both honor enough to erect the head of the poorest beggar, and shame enough to bow the shoulders of the greatest emperor on earth.  Be content.”

What a statement about humanity- the quality of being human and the implications for life on earth. 

And now, I’ll move on to my rant about grammar.  I received a story from one of my classmates in my creative writing class today.  Never mind that it was 5 days late; at least we had it before class started.  I started reading it and could hardly continue.  There are no paragraphs, and multiple verb tenses are used throughout so that the reader is unsure whether the story is presently happening or already over.  Punctuation use is similar to that of the second graders in my internship class.  I’m not sure how much of my pain is due to my grammar-jerk nature and how much is truly horrible.

Leave a Reply

