musings

“If I discover within myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.” – CS Lewis

“Temptation is a suggested shortcut to the realization of the highest of which I aim- not towards what I understand as evil, but towards what I understand as good.”  -Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest

The sermon at church yesterday was on temptation, and it provided the perfect opportunity to further consider this quote from Oswald Chambers that I had been chewing on for awhile.  It has become clear to me in the last month or so that usually, when I’m tempted, the temptation is to not trust God and instead try to fulfill my desires by myself.  Sometimes the desires are God-given, and sometimes they are an extreme of a God-given desire.  

What if, in the face of such temptations, I remembered that God knows my desires and fulfills them in His way and time?  Hmm….probably good things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

