Much is Required

A nice warm house and my very own bed

Mom and Dad to tuck me in

We had plenty of food and leftovers besides

Only unneeded things were denied.

.

Five generations born into truth

Brought up in Sunday School, taught of Moses and Ruth

Light all around was comfy and sweet

The glory of sitting at Jesus’ feet

To whom much is given much is required.

I’ve been given so much, but I couldn’t be bothered

When we come to the end of it all

I’ll see the many with needs 

And know I was called.

As I see how much I’ve been given

I still don’t know how to give it away

Lord, please show me how to live my life Your way

As living sacrifice so someday, You can say,

“Well done.”

I know to whom much is given, much is required.

I’ve been given so much, now Lord,

Let me be bothered

So that when we come to the end of it all

Many more will know

That they were called.

I’ve been thinking about the verse quoted here (to whom much is given, much is required) since before I went to South Africa and a whole lot more since then.  As I’ve tried to process what that means and how it applies to my life, the song lyrics here were born.  I don’t have a lot of answers to what this all means, but I’m definitely on the learning curve.  Maybe you are, too.

2 thoughts on “Much is Required

  1. You need to hear Steve Lawson’s sermon from the Resolved 2007 Conference on the cost of discipleship. You do not ask an easy question, but that is good.

    ~Matt 13:44; Luke 14:33

    Great lyrics.

    -js

Leave a Reply

