Pastors- some of my favorite people!

I’ve been thinking over the last week about how important and amazing pastors are.  I have been blessed with some fantastic pastors over my (not-so-vast) 22 years on this planet. 

The best pastors I’ve had were/are the ones who, I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, love me and want God’s best in my life.  They don’t stop there, though; they are willing to say hard things to me that need to be said to help me to live out God’s best.  Also, it is clear that their care for me isn’t limited to the time I was in their congregation.  When I see these pastors now, I am blessed to know that their investment in my life has not ended though it is different now.

I was talking to a friend this week about the Biblical responsibility of pastors and how, according to the Bible, they will give an account for how they led the souls in their charge.  It made me even more thankful for pastors I’ve had who took that seriously.

I’m not a pastor, but I do want to follow the example of the faithful pastors I’ve had in loving people and investing in them.  I’m thankful for people to watch and learn from as I follow Jesus.

Leave a Reply

