Brothers

I don’t know if I’ve ever posted about this before, but we had a great discussion about brothers in Sunday School this morning, so I figured that it was about time.

To preface this for those of you who don’t know my family, I have no natural brothers.  I love my sisters dearly, and would not trade either of them for a brother.  That said, I was always slightly jealous of my friends who had an older brother.  They just seemed so inherently cool!  I also hung out with girls outside of my family for the most part, so I didn’t have any close guy friends.

Fast forward to now.  In the last several years, I have both gained brothers-in-Christ in a new way and learned how to have that sort of relationship with them.  I’m still learning a lot, and learning to appreciate a lot.  That’s where Sunday School today comes in.

The first (and only, as it turned out) scripture we looked at was Hebrews 2:11, which says,

“For both He who sanctifies and those who are sanctified are all from one Father; for which reason He is not ashamed to call them brethren…” (it goes on to quote OT passages about our relationship as siblings of Jesus.)

We talked about what it means to be brothers, and the two guys there shared their experiences with their own brothers.  The phrase, “You have to get through me to get to my brother (sister)” came up, and we talked about how that’s what Jesus does for us.  The justice of God demands a sacrifice, and in effect, Jesus (sent by God) covered us by taking the beating and death that we deserved.  Jesus has gone before us and experienced things so that He can empathize with us just like an older brother.  How cool!

On a personal application note, I feel so blessed to have brothers now.  They are guys around me who I can trust to protect and care for me the way brothers do.  They pick on me like brothers too, but I’m learning that brothers express their care differently than sisters do, so I’m learning take it for what it really is.  It’s such a unique thing to the family of God that we can have such relationships.  How cool that in following Jesus we get Jesus and family too!

Leave a Reply

