Triple delight

Delight #1: conversation with Tricia.  I love knowing that she will tell me the truth whether I want to hear it or not.  She is not the only friend who does this for me, but I’m posting about delights today, and that was the first.

Delight #2: an amazingly fragrant orange blossom picked from the tree.  Orange blossoms are a spring flower, but this one enticed me with the smell and sent me looking for it on the tree.  It was such a lovely surprise!  I can’t share the scent with you, but here’s a picture to make up for it.

orange blossom

Delight #3: swings!  I got to hang out with Sylvia today on the swing set in her apartment complex.  Swings are one of my favorite things, and the experience got even better when we got to watch several kids play and finished our time with some conversational prayer.

Also, in the spirit of delight, another picture from the weekend- dancing with the little boy my mom nannies in the dancing leaves:

Dancing with Wade 2

7 thoughts on “Triple delight

  1. Today, it looked like Sylvia and I sitting on swings and deciding that we weren’t going to do the normal one-person-prays-then-the-other (after waiting 30 seconds to make sure that they are really done) thing. I want to say that we prayed like God was really there, sitting on a swing next to us, and we did, but that implies that we don’t usually believe He is really there with us.

    I guess the defining factors were the unplanned/relaxed nature of it and the hightened awareness that we were spending time with God, not just communicating a list of needs or thoughts (though needs and thoughts were communicated).

    I would pray about something, and she would pray about something, then I would pray about something and on as we thought of things that we wanted to pray about. There was also silence, and that was good.

    Also, conversational prayer is probably not the best name for it, but I didn’t know what else to call it as I was writing about it.

  2. yyjfhhtI like this idea. I’ve never tried it, but I do enjoy praying with others out loud. Specifically I enjoy praying out loud with Simon.

    Question: What is the best way to promote contentment throughout your life?

  3. Wow…I hope Chad gets better soon. It doesn’t sound like he has far to go. 😛

    On contentment…hmm. That’s a good question. I wish I had a good answer! I think that Biblically, contentment starts with letting the deepest desires of your heart be formed, then satisfied by Jesus. Hebrews 13:5 ties earthly contentment to the knowledge of God’s presence with us.

    Also, keeping an eternal perspective helps with remembering what is really important. (See Matt. 6:33).

    For me personally, gratitude seems to be a powerful generator of contentment. When I look at how I have been blessed, it’s hard to complain. A sure way to avoid contentment is to compare to people who have what you want, then complain that you don’t have what they do.

    Finally, there are some things that I know make contentment harder for me. I don’t think my house is horrible and want a house full of new furniture until I spend awhile with the Pier 1 catalog, so I try to be wise with that.

    [If that doesn’t work, go to Africa for awhile, or even to a rescue mission.]

  4. Katrina,
    Be sure you get the right mate the first time. i.e. make sure it’s
    God’s will. Then let nothing separate you..Then tell each other. “You don’t have to do it my way.”

Leave a Reply

