Big and Wonderful

I have been talking to you since I was a little girl
So many sweet memories of giving you my world

You are wonderful – a friend to the weary
You have been so faithful – Your goodness follows me
You are beautiful- Your love never ending

These are more lyrics from Sara Groves (because she’s what I’m listening to non-stop these days) to describe my thoughts today.  The title of this song is, “You Are Wonderful.”

I’m reminded of a quote from C.S. Lewis’ Prince Caspian:

“Aslan,” said Lucy, “You’re bigger!”

“That is because you are older, little one,” answered he.

“Not because you are?”

“I am not.  But every year you grow, you will find me bigger.”

How wonderful that the sometimes hard process of growing up can be graced by finding out how big God is.  It makes growing a whole lot more positive, despite the growing pains!

I used to listen to people talk in church about how serving Jesus got “sweeter as the years go by” and wonder how that could be.  Now, although I don’t have nearly the perspective from years that they do, I say it myself.

3 thoughts on “Big and Wonderful

  1. I was just talking to Doug about this quote a week ago! I think it totally rocks. I hope you have a great weekend. I have been in Washington about 1.5 weeks now with no breaks.

    js

  2. So… I was listening to this cd in my car, until Justin came and stole it! Nobody told me that marriage = somebody stealing all the good music! I’ll get back at him by stealing the covers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

