Awkward!

Just the word looks funny. 

The discussions around here about this word abound.  What is awkward?  Are things awkward because we make them awkward?  Why are some things more awkward for some people than others?

I’m not sure on all of those answers.  Maybe a pysch major would have a little more insight on them.  What I’m learning, though, is that the more awkward things I experience, the less awkward they get.  What would have been miserably awkward for me 2 years ago is now normal or even fun!  That gives me hope for the things that are currently awkward for me.  Maybe they will be fun in the future!  Some things are just not as hard to respond to as they used to be.  Today, someone at work made a comment that would have made me turn bright red a year ago, and I didn’t.  It’s the small things.

The other aspect of awkwardness that my friends and I often discuss is this: awkwardness is not a legitimate excuse to avoid something.  It’s easy to say, “I don’t want to bring up God stuff with my friends because it’s awkward” and pretend that you have a good reason to avoid obedience.  It’s worth it to say, “This isn’t easy for me, and it may mean discomfort for me, but I’ll obey.” 

What’s the worst that could happen?

Leave a Reply

