The glorious thrill of pursuit

Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus. Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.  ~Philippians 3:12-14

“Dear One, God created us.  He knows what satisfies our souls and fulfills us.  Keep in mind that God created work before the fall.  He created us with a need to contribute to and participate in the harvest.  God could grant us victory and maturity without an ounce of participation on our parts, but He created us to be most satisfied by apprehending through diligent pursuit.

Our salvation is a free gift of grace that demanded the work of Christ Jesus alone.  God made sure, however, that much of our fulfillment would involve the glorious pursuit of God and His goals so that our souls would be filled and thrilled in the constant discoveries.  God is sovereign.  When all is said and done, He knows what will thrill us most.” ~ Beth Moore

This was part of my homework for our Bible study for this week.  As I read it, I understood at a deeper level both why my heart is so delighted by discovering new depths of God’s truth in His Word and watching as they are applied in my life and the lives of my friends.  There’s nothing quite like the “I’m going to burst because Jesus is amazing and I just saw Him a little bit more” feeling.

It’s kind of like hiking- the first time or two are hard, but somewhere along the line, what was previously only challenging and hard becomes challenging and worth every bit of sweat.  It’s a whole lot easier to chill on the couch than to take a hike, and it’s a whole lot easier to meander through scripture without much thought or care than to study, meditate on, and ask questions about what you read.  It’s also a whole lot more fulfilling to do what takes effort, and the beauty you can access with a little more effort is astonishing.  Plus, the results of study have the potential to transform your heart and life (quite literally) forever.   

How gracious He is, even (and especially) when we don’t see it right away!

One thought on “The glorious thrill of pursuit

Leave a Reply

