The love of the world

I’ve heard more sermons than I can remember, let alone count, on 1 John 2:15-17.  It reads,

“Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world. And the world passes away, and the lust thereof: but he that does the will of God abides for ever.”

 For the first time in my life, last week at Sunday School I really understood how this is so relevant to the culture we live in.  The lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life are not only part of the world we live in, they are advertised and promoted and taught by the world we live in.  A quick glance at the magazines on sale at the grocery store and a few minutes of tv show that we are encouraged to want both sex and food in unhealthy ways.  The ads for stuff- the new ipod, new clothes for this season, etc. etc. etc. say that you really do want more more more.  My generation has been taught since elementary school that we are extraordinary because we exist, and now we’re in college classes that encourage us to believe in ourselves as the source of every good thing we need.  If this isn’t the pride of life, I don’t know what is.  The lie behind this is that we are told to take the glory that is rightfully God’s- the glory of creation- for ourselves.

I was challenged as HollyAnn and I talked to examine my own life to see where I am tempted to buy the lies sold around me.  The love of the world ends.  The love of God and he (or she) who does the will of God remain forever.

I’m looking forward to eternity.

6 thoughts on “The love of the world

  1. I hope it makes sense to post this C.S. Lewis quote. Perhaps it aligns more with what our Father has been teaching me about the new man. All of the desires of the world fall short of what God wants for us, and more importantly, his glory.

    Indeed, if we consider the unblushing promises of reward and the staggering nature of the rewards promised in the Gospels, it would seem that Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.

  2. Js-

    So completely true and appropriate.

    Angela-

    Now I feel guilty for my envy of all the awesome suits I was looking at in gq all day, thanks a lot!

  3. The challenge I naturally find in the pursuit of the infinite joy that is offered is that it is exactly that- infinite. It is much easier (and quicker) to pursue finite joy that holds at least the illusion of quick satisfaction. If the slum is not glorious, at least it is present.

    And yet, we are called to and made for true glory that is possible because of and through the love of God.

    So I simultaneously enjoy and delight in the love of God and long for it more deeply than ever. As long as I pursue Him, I am both more completely satiated and more desparate than ever before.

    Josh- You’ll have to hash that out with John (or Jesus). 😛

Leave a Reply

