I’d rather have Jesus…really.

I’d Rather Have Jesus
I’d rather have Jesus than silver or gold;
I’d rather be His than have riches untold;
I’d rather have Jesus than houses or lands,
I’d rather be led by His nail pierced hand.

Than to be a king of a vast domain
Or be held in sin’s dread sway,
I’d rather have Jesus than anything
This world affords today.

I’d rather have Jesus than men’s applause;
I’d rather be faithful to His dear cause;
I’d rather have Jesus than world-wide fame,
I’d rather be true to His holy name.

He’s fairer than lilies of rarest bloom;
He’s sweeter than honey from out of the comb;
He’s all that my hungering spirit needs,
I’d rather have Jesus and let Him lead.

Candi got ordained tonight (yeah and congratulations!!). It was really cool to be there for it and to look forward to the even cooler things that God will do throughout the rest of her life. I have been so incredibly blessed to learn from her and serve under her leadership and with her friendship for the last five years. I told someone tonight, “I can’t imagine my life without Candi and Shawn,” and it’s really true. I will never be the same.

That sets the stage for this post because at the service, we sang this song. I can’t count the number of times I have sung and played this song, and the older I get, the more meaningful it is to me. Tonight, it hit home in a new way.

We were singing, singing, singing, and God spoke up. His questions were simple and profound, but they hit at my heart in ways that the song lyrics didn’t. They dealt with desires that go deeper than silver, gold, houses or lands:

“Would you really rather have Me than anything? Even visible success? Even vibrant ministry? Even things that are good and from Me- like community and encouragement and growth? Do you want to go My way instead of your own way, even if your own way looks good? Do you really want Me most?”

The amazing thing is that God had set me up to have those questions settled deeper than ever before in my heart. The last three days have each included a conversation that went something along the lines of “Isn’t Jesus good? Look at how faithful He is and how gracious and kind He has been to me!”

I’m not Buddhist, and I don’t think that all desires are evil and need to be eradicated. I do think that every desire, even desire for the good things that God offers and provides, must be subject to desire for Him.

So yes, Jesus, I would rather have You than anything the world affords. You are all that my hungering spirit needs, and I would rather have You and let You lead.

5 thoughts on “I’d rather have Jesus…really.

  1. Ang, this is beautiful. Another reminder of how Jesus called sitting at his feet the “good part” even though there were probably other things that should have/could have been done. Thank you!

  2. Hey Babe, you and your dad should discuss this song. Have you considered the words to “Come thou Fount of every Blessing”?

  3. Thanks, P. That is a wonderful song. That was one of my dad’s favorites he sang in campmeetings and revivals. I didn’t think anyone sang that anymore.
    Congratulations to Candi. That is so thrilling. I think she and Sean have been such blessings to the students. No wonder you were so thrilled over the last week.

    8=)

Leave a Reply

