Accounting with joy

How can I bless my pastor?

Lead somebody to Christ. Live a holy life. Don’t lose your faith when you get cancer. Bring up your kid to love Christ. Do something radical for missions.

The common denominator for all of those is that you prove by your life that I haven’t wasted mine.

Don’t give me a Rolls-Royce when I turn sixty. I would’ve wasted my life if you think you’re blessing me with some big financial gift when I’m sixty. I want to see your life changed. I want to see you pour yourself out for others. And I’m sure that’s what you’re asking about.

I get in prayer meetings and listen to my people pray, and I say, “That’s what I’m living for.”

They’re holding on to Jesus. Life is falling apart for them over here, but they’re not giving up on the Lord. They’re rejoicing in him. Or I hear a man tell about how he shared Christ at his work.

Those are the things that make a pastor endure anything.”

-John Piper

Thanks to Bloglines and a little curiosity, I found this in a blog post. I thought it was interesting. I want to make my pastors happy. It fits with Hebrews 13:17:

“Obey them that have the rule over you, and submit yourselves: for they watch for your souls, as they that must give account, that they may do it with joy, and not with grief: for that is unprofitable for you.”

May many accounts be given with joy!

3 thoughts on “Accounting with joy

  1. As one of your “former” pastors…this is right on. I heard your own great uncle (also a pastor) say…”don’t tell me my sermons are good and then don’t follow…just follow and I’ll be happy.”

    It seems like you’re following at least a few of the things I challenged you with a number of years back…and yes I’m very happy (maybe even a tear or two from time to time) Silver or gold are nothing compared to the joy and worth that come from seeing one of those you have invested in…growing in the Lord and investing in others.

    Thus far…by God’s grace…we’re accounting with JOY!

  2. As one of your “former” pastors…this is right on. I heard your own great uncle (also a pastor) say…”don’t tell me my sermons are good and then don’t follow…just follow and I’ll be happy.”

    It seems like you’re following at least a few of the things I challenged you with a number of years back…and yes I’m very happy (maybe even a tear or two from time to time) Silver or gold are nothing compared to the joy and worth that come from seeing one of those you have invested in…growing in the Lord and investing in others.

    Thus far…by God’s grace…we’re accounting with JOY!

Leave a Reply

