This is the Day

Amanda and I listened to this song over and over and over again as we drove north.  It became a bit of a theme song.  This video isn’t the best (welcome to youtube), but you can hear the fun melodies and harmonies that make a fabulous chunk of God’s Word fun to sing along with.

The words are:

Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good;  His love endures forever.

He is my strength and He’s my song; His love endures forever.

I will proclaim what He has done; His love endures forever.

I will enter and give thanks to Him; His holy gate the righteous may enter.

I will give You thanks.  You answered me; You are my salvation.

This is the day the Lord has made.  I will rejoice and be glad in it.

 

Over the last week or so, I have become increasingly aware of how self-centered, self-protective, and prideful I can be, and it’s not a very fun realization.  The good news is the Gospel of Jesus– that His love endures forever, He answers me and He is my salvation.  He is so gracious to reveal the things in me that I don’t see so that He can change me (and not so often that I want to die!).  I’m reading (and enjoying) a short book by Eugene Peterson called The Wisdom of Each Other: A Conversation Between Spiritual Friends, and this quote hit me:

“We become Christians because we realize we cannot save ourselves and need Christ to save us.  But once we are ‘in’ we start taking over the job.”

And so I’m back to koinonia- the partnership between God and me and the working out my salvation as He works in me.  Such a sweet fellowship by His grace.

I’m sorry if this post is a bit scattered…that’s the state of my brain right now. 🙂

3 thoughts on “This is the Day

Leave a Reply

