Confession is indeed good for the soul

Yep…not always fun, but often needed.  James 5 talks about the process- confess, pray, and be healed.  When I found myself wrestling to fight lies and discern truth earlier this week, nothing good came from staying quiet and internalizing it all.  Blinking back tears has no redeeming value.  Isolation is not helpful.

It’s one of those things that I know is true, I’ve taught others, and I try to practice.  And yet, in the midst of frustration, it’s easy to lose sight of what is best.  The confusion and turmoil that the enemy loves to slip in and dump on seem overwhelming.  That’s some of the value of confession; it necessarily ends the isolation.  Truth can be applied to lies and perspective can be added.

Truth and perspective were both needed for me.  I woke up the next morning, and it took me a bit to realize it, but healing had happened.  I don’t know how exactly, but healing had come in places that I had wished for and prayed for. 

I am grateful.  The process is continuing, and I expect it to for the rest of my life.  I am grateful for the people that God faithfully places around me, no matter where I am, to be the ears and mouth of Jesus in my life.  I am grateful that my human brokenness is redeemed by the healing work of my faithful God.

As Sara Groves says:

Something changed inside me broke wide open all spilled out
Till I had no doubt that something changed

Never would have believed it till I felt it in my own heart
In the deepest part the healing came

And I cannot make it
And I cannot fake it
And I can’t afford it
But it’s mine

Something so amazing in a heart so dark and dim
When a wall falls down and the light comes in

And I cannot make it
And I cannot fake it
And I can’t afford it
But it’s mine

2 thoughts on “Confession is indeed good for the soul

  1. Found this today and it reminded me of our conversation. Hope you enjoy… Love you!

    Being Broken

    Jesus was broken on the cross. He lived his suffering and death not as an evil to avoid at all costs, but as a mission to embrace. We too are broken. We live with broken bodies, broken hearts, broken minds or broken spirits. We suffer from broken relationships.

    How can we live our brokenness? Jesus invites us to embrace our brokenness as he embraced the cross and live it as part of our mission. He asks us not to reject our brokenness as a curse from God that reminds us of our sinfulness but to accept it and put it under God’s blessing for our purification and sanctification. Thus our brokenness can become a gateway to new life.
    ~Henri Nouwen

Leave a Reply

