Same song, second verse, five years later

“It’s not the same here without you!”

“I’m praying for you!”

“We love you!”

“Keep God first, He has the best plan for your life.”

“I know God will bless you as you follow Him.”

It’s amazing what a little (or a lot) of encouragement can do for a person.  You can survive what you didn’t think was possible with encouragement.

Those are direct quotes from a card sent from my Seattle church family during my first month of college.  I went through a large manila envelope titled, “First year @ ASU stuff” today.  They’re also some of the same things I’m hearing now from my Arizona family.  For those of you who have said and are saying those things, thank you!

When I finished, I couldn’t help feeling abundantly blessed and incredibly well-loved.  I had card after card from friends and family, clearly spread throughout that first year and filled with encouragement and many assurances of prayers.  It made me realize once again that I want to be that person- the one who prays diligently and sends cards and says what needs to be heard.

A good word truly does brighten the heart. (Proverbs 12:25)

2 thoughts on “Same song, second verse, five years later

  1. I just read a book that called Romans 8:28 a “reverse paranoid”. (For we know that all things work together for good to to them that love God, to them who are the called, according to His purpose.) Kinda a nice thought, don’t you think?

  2. I love mom’s verse.
    I was given me many years ago in high school.

    So, wherever you go you will make a host of friends that will remember you forever and will miss you when you are gone as you will miss them.
    What a treasure to have many friends.
    You will always be one of ours. 8=)

Leave a Reply

