my latest delight: familiarity

Over the last two weeks, I have unexpectedly heard two different pieces (Debussy’s Raindrop Prelude in Db Major and Haydn’s Sonata in C Major, Hob. XVI:1) that I played years ago.  There’s something about the familiarity of hearing a song that I learned and worked on that is just delightful!

The delight of familiarity is present in so many ways- it’s what makes a house “home,” what makes me re-read favorite chapters of the Bible, and what makes friends into family.  There’s a comfort there, and when so much of life is new-to-me learning, that comfort is really welcome!

One thought on “my latest delight: familiarity

Leave a Reply

