What revival might look like: maybe a little letting go?

From Jenni’s perspective, here it is.  She wrote this for the XA @ ASU blog after a year of praying for and seeing it, and it is a bit of redemption for a lot of wondering and struggling with it.  

This is a song that is played regularly on the local Christian station [that I intersperse into the ads on the classical station lately].  It caught my attention, and I’m not sure what I think about it altogether yet.  It makes me think…I’m not sure that I ever had control of my destiny…maybe just imagined control? 😛  

“I’m Letting Go” by Francesca Battestelli

My heart beats, standing on the edge 
But my feet have finally left the ledge 
Like an acrobat 
There’s no turning back 

I’m letting go 
Of the life I planned for me 
And my dreams 
I’m losing control 
Of my destiny 
Feels like I’m falling and that’s what it’s like to believe 
So I’m letting go 

This is a giant leap of faith 
Trusting and trying to embrace 
The fear of the unknown 
Beyond my comfort zone 

Giving in to your gravity 
Knowing You are holding me 
I’m not afraid 

Feels like I’m falling and that’s what it’s like to believe 
Feels like I’m falling and this is the life for me

___________________________________________________________

The only way believing can be “the life for me” is believing that “the Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in Him, and I am helped.” (Psalms 28:7)  There’s no motivation to leave the ledge of my comfort zone without His shepherding and carrying forever (vs. 9).

Leave a Reply

