Happy Valentine’s Day!

The way I see it, singles have several options this Valentine’s Day.

Option A: be bitter, angry, and frustrated at one’s singleness.  Pretend it is a normal day with a little extra misery thrown in for the fun of it.

Option B: live a romance vicariously through a cheesy chick-flick.  Grab a bunch of Kleenex (my local Target has them on sale this week), a pint of Ben and Jerry’s, a blanket to curl up with, and wish the evening away.

Option C: Enjoy the day with friends, look forward to the ends and the means* of God’s plan for you, and pray for God-honoring marriages for yourself and those you know.  Send valentines to friends and tell them how much you appreciate them.  Practice letting God steward the desires of your heart.  Oh yeah- eat some good chocolate, too!

As for me, I’ll be enjoying option C with my sister.  As one of my middle school teachers used to say, “Make it a great day!”

*Courtesy of Derek Webb, “Table for Two”

And You know the plans that You have for me
And You can’t plan the end and not plan the means
And so I suppose I just need some peace
Just to get me to sleep.

One thought on “Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

