The Glory of the Gospel

For God, who said, “Light shall shine out of darkness,” is the One who has shone in our hearts to give the Light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ.    -2 Corinthians 4:6

The glory of the LORD shall endure for ever; the LORD shall rejoice in His works.  -Psalm 104:31

The word glory fascinates me.  It can also be translated from the Hebrew as “weight,” which adds a whole new dimension to the fear of the Lord.  The weight of God’s glory reminds me that it is just that- glory- not glamor.  It is not a temporary, fleeting feeling, though sometimes we sense the glory of God in different ways.  The glory of God is His dignity and honor, and that will be true in every age:

Then I heard every creature in Heaven and earth, in underworld and sea, join in, all voices in all places, singing:

To the One on the Throne! To the Lamb!
The blessing, the honor, the glory, the strength,
For age after age after age.  -Revelation 5:13

The glamor that I enjoyed as a little girl, pretending to be  princess or whatever else struck my fancy, is essentially different from the eternal worthiness of the Lamb of God, Jesus.  Still, it’s easy (for me at least!) to become disillusioned when the glory of God isn’t as apparent as I’d like it to be.  I want to see the glory of God, to sense it palpably.

When situations look broken, when my failings and those of other humans become evident again, and when my focus rests on the brokenness of humanity instead of the glory of God revealed in the face of Jesus Christ…well, that’s when I need a reminder.

No matter what I see at the moment, the glory of God will endure forever.  The Light shone out of darkness, and He is the display of God’s glory.  If I never saw another heart healed, family restored, or beautiful sunset, Jesus is still worthy.

One thought on “The Glory of the Gospel

  1. Makes me want to put on “The Messiah” #4, the first chorus: ” And The Glory Of The Lord” hummmm Why not.
    In fact I just did.

Leave a Reply

