as a sheep before His shearers

I can’t find it now…but last week, I watched as much as I could of a video of orthodox Jews killing a lamb for their sacrifice.  The video shows their care as they inspect the lamb, tie it up, lay it on its back, and carefully shear the wool off of a small area of his neck.

As I watched, Isaiah 53:7 suddenly made sense to me:

He was oppressed and He was afflicted, yet He did not open His mouth; like a lamb that is led to slaughter, and like a sheep that is silent before its shearers, so He did not open His mouth. 

I knew that Jesus was oppressed and afflicted, and in the face of His impending death was silent.  What I didn’t realize before was that the shearing- the careful use of a razor blade to remove the wool from the sheep’s neck- is the precursor to death.  

Previously, I had wondered why the routine removal of wool made it into this prophetic chapter.  Now, I know…it was far from routine.  Although the shearing was physically painless, the anticipation of what was to come must have been miserable.

…but He did not open His mouth…

for us.

One thought on “as a sheep before His shearers

Leave a Reply

