In time: Redemption for the Helpless

For while we were still helpless, at the right time, Christ died for the ungodly.- Romans 5:6

At the right time, Christ died.  

If He did the most life-changing, history-altering, kingdom-building thing He could have done at the right time, why would I think He would do anything at the wrong time?

If He did the most apparently horrible, miserable, painful, hard-to-watch thing He could have done, why would I think He would do anything that was wrong?

If He did the most beautiful, gracious, sacrificial thing He could have done when I was still helpless, why would I think that His beauty, grace, and sacrifice were in response to an illusion of goodness?

Because I am human, I have thought those things.

Because He is God, His Word reveals truth and correction.

Because He loves me, and you, and the ones we love (and the ones we struggle to love), Christ died for the ungodly.

Leave a Reply

