Much more

 

For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by his life. 

For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by his life. – Romans 5:10

Somehow, despite many a reading of this chapter, I never really got this verse.  When I consider that while I was at my worst, God sent His best, I am in awe of the grace of God.  And while the reconciliation took place years ago by the death of Jesus, the salvation by His life continues on a daily basis in His deliverance and continuous making-whole process.  

My best (and still tenuous) understanding presently is that the reconciliation to God is like the down payment on a house.  It allows the rest of the payments to be made, and Jesus’ death allows us to live in His life from that point forward.  

I don’t know…I’m still chewing on this one, but I am grateful for both the death and life of Jesus!

Leave a Reply

