Still saying, “No.”

Randy Alcorn (one of my favorite authors, a former pastor, and the guy in charge of Eternal Perspectives Ministries) is in at least a wee bit of demand as a speaker/author/whatever else you do when people want to hear what you have to say.  His answer to some of the opportunities that come his way is:

I have to say “no” to many good things, and even some great ones, in order to be able to say “yes” to those very few things God has called me to do.

It reminds me of an earlier post on saying no as a good steward.  I’ve recently had opportunity myself to say no…to an amazing opportunity to go to Cambodia this summer.  It was a hard decision to make; the team will be working in a children’s home and providing health care for the community.  When I asked what there was for non-medical people (like myself) to do, I found out about a baby-washing station.  Taking care of babies!  Could there be a more precious charge?

And yet…God had already given me ideas, hopes, and vision for this summer with the kids at church.  Without the stress and time demands of work, I’m excited to spend time with them, eating ice cream, playing at the park, and sharing life.  That would be a challenge if I were out of town for most of the month of July with little time in June and a week or two in August.  

So, I fully expect and pray that my first summer in 9 years without a “missions trip” to another country will be just as missional, though local.  May it be so.

3 thoughts on “Still saying, “No.”

  1. Good for you!!! Your students at church will benefit from your “NO”.

    I have a quote on my bulletin board by a business “guru” that says: “If you’ve got talent, people want more of you. They ask you for this or that or the other thing. They ask nicely. They will benefit from the insight you can give them….The choice: you can dissipate your gift by making the people with the loudest requests temporarily happy, or you can change the world by saying ‘no’ often…(and he goes on a little more). This quote is right next to a little piece of paper with the words “YES list” on it. On it are the 5 things I will say yes to; all other things must be weighed carefully.

Leave a Reply

