On duty and grace

The tiniest detail in which I obey has all the omnipotent power of the grace of God behind it.  If I do my duty, not for duty’s sake, but because I believe God is engineering my circumstances, then at the very point of my obedience the whole superb grace of God is mine through the Atonement.

-My Utmost for His Highest, June 15

When duty is done in faith, there is grace.  When duty is done in lack of faith, there is frustration.  Lord, I believe.  Help my unbelief!

Leave a Reply

