By Faith

Last Saturday, I had a lovely date with my dad (Korean barbecue- yum!!), then he asked if I had any plans for the evening.

By way of explanation, my dad and I enjoy spending time together…but this was a little different because he had scheduled it a week in advance for dinner at 4pm.  Something was afoot, but I didn’t know what.

I said, “no,” and he kept driving…and driving…and soon we were in Bellevue, getting off the freeway to I-didn’t-know-where.  The question of our destination had floated through my brain often, but two facts kept me from asking:

1. I didn’t think he would tell me.

2. I trust my dad.

By this time, I was getting more curious.  He asked if I was wondering, and I explained my curiosity and rationale for not asking any questions.  As we pulled into a local church with a sign announcing a Keith and Kristyn Getty (known for “In Christ Alone”) concert that night, it all made sense.  My mom, Bean, and Simon were there too, and we enjoyed a fabulous evening of worship.

The song that I keep replaying fits well with the hour before the concert.  I have lots of evidence to trust my earthly dad who has faithfully cared for me for almost 25 years, and I have even more evidence to trust my heavenly dad who knew me and loved me before anyone else.

By faith we see the hand of God

In the light of creation’s grand design

In the lives of those who prove His faithfulness

Who walk by faith and not by sight

We will stand as children of the promise

We will lift our eyes to Him, our soul’s reward

‘Til the race is finished and the work is done

We’ll walk by faith and not by sight.

You can watch and listen to it here or here.

One thought on “By Faith

Leave a Reply

