On sharing His Words

He comes Friday for lunch, like always, and we meet in the doorway and, always, we wrap arms, me the daughter-in-law, him the worn father of the man whose ring I wear. He pats my back, and I brush his cheek.

He’s seventy-five and he takes my seat and I bring the dish of squash, the plate of pork roast. Children wash hands.

“I saw Pete today over at the home farm.” Opa smiles, nods. I serve potatoes. Pete’s our age, married to Opa’s grand-daughter. Farmer Husband smiles, nods too, the language of men.

“And how’s Pete?”

“Oh, we were talking of the things of the Lord, and I told him I was working on memorizing from Ephesians this week, another three verses this morning, and Pete, he just says, “Can I hear your verses?” He just asks to hear them right there in the farmyard!” Opa’s chuckling now, his cheeks blushing bashful child

“I didn’t have anything on me, not a Bible or cue cards or anything, and I wasn’t really expecting that…” He’s grinning. “But by His grace, I was able to say it, that whole chapter of Ephesians…”
And I grin, pat his shoulder, pass the water down to Farmer Husband.

“And then Pete… ” Opa looks over at me, wide-eyed, the child joy of man faith. “Pete, he asks me, “Would you mind listening to what I’m memorizing?” He was memorizing too and wanted to share! I wasn’t expecting that either!” He laughs, the joy of men spontaneously speaking ancient Words, dialect of Home.

-from Ann at A Holy Experience

I was inspired…so Psalm 27 it is, a verse a day between now and Thanksgiving, full of lots to give thanks for.  I’ll post my verse for the day each day.  If you want to join in, go for it!

Psalm 27:1 (KJV)

The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

(See an earlier post on Psalm 27 here.)

Leave a Reply

