All a matter of perspective

One of my piano students, after a week of working with a metronome, proudly told me about his progress: “I started at 101, then I moved up to 102!”

For those of you who are unfamiliar with metronomes, the beeps are measured in beeps per minute.  60 beats per minute is 1 beep/second; 120 beats per minute is 2 beeps per second.

I’m generally of the opinion that every bit of progress is worth celebrating…I’m just not used to celebrating an increase in tempo of 1 beat per minute!

2 thoughts on “All a matter of perspective

Leave a Reply

