Echo of Guidance

They’re the phrases that follow you through life, the reminders that you “hear” even far from your parents.  Some are simple; some are quite profound.  In a sense, the depth of the command is irrelevant.  We are formed, in large part, by what we hear early in life.  Phrases like, “Buckle your seatbelt!” and later, “Leave plenty of following distance.” ring in my ears at times as if she was sitting next to me in the car.  When I leave the house, my dad’s reminder to “Remember.” stays with me.

It was these kinds of echoes that I thought of as I read Psalm 17:4 this morning:

As for the deeds of men, by the word of Your lips
I have kept from the paths of the violent.

I have stayed away from violent (destructive) paths by Your words.  Just like my parents’ words, even now, echo in my ears and heart to continue the protection that wisdom brings, so God’s words provide guidance and protection.

One thought on “Echo of Guidance

Leave a Reply

