I’ll take some of that…and that…and that.

The first ten chapters of 1 Kings are incredible.  Solomon has it made: an offer from God to provide whatever he wanted and a pure request to go with it, a godly heritage, wisdom, favor with his contemporaries (when did the leader of a neighboring country delight to give you forests of trees?), and the manifest presence of God in a beautiful new temple.

As I read it, I thought often, “I’ll take some of that…and that…and that.”  I don’t need the ivory-covered-with-gold throne or sailors to bring me sixteen tons of gold, but wisdom from above and favor to build for God’s kingdom I’ll gladly accept.

And, on the classroom side of life, the quote of the day yesterday was, “Ms. Olson, don’t leave!  I wanna stay at school forever!”

Leave a Reply

