The Mess We Call Christmas II

There are a few subjects I like to avoid when talking with kids.  Conception is one of them.  Similarly, the full meaning of the word “know” in the Bible is an answer I’d rather not provide.  Therefore, the beginning of the Christmas story presents potential for sticky situations.  Thankfully, I’ve been successful so far in my effort to stick to the less, err, complicated portions of the story.

Really, though, God was clearly not interested in a neat-and-tidy, socially-acceptable way to enter the world in human form 2,000 years ago.  As far as I can tell, He’s not looking for neat-and-tidy, socially-acceptable situations to merely decorate with His name today.

Maybe a fresh look at the Christmas story is just what I need to raise my faith.  He came to the pure in heart and delighted them with the gift of His presence 2,000 years ago.  I’d like to fit that bill today.

Leave a Reply

