Cup of Salvation

New favorite song time!  I’ve been listening to this for, oh, a month now, and I’m still loving it.  It’s easy to keep loving a song based on scripture.  You can listen to a quick clip of “Cup of Salvation” by Shane and Shane here.  These are the words to the chorus.

I will lift up a cup of salvation
Call on the Name of the Lord
How do I repay the life that You gave
I’ll call on the Name of the Lord
Lift up a cup, You have already poured.

The challenge of lifting up the cup He has already poured sticks with me each time I listen to this song.  To lift up the cup of salvation, to live it out, to “drink to the dregs” as Henri Nouwen challenges, is a life endeavor in itself.  So how do I so easily forget that my cup has been filled with salvation?

Time to reflect again on the cup of salvation and the ways in which my cup has been filled.  Here’s the bridge which serves as my reflection prompt:

You have delivered my soul from death
My eyes from tears
My feet from stumbling
And I will walk before the Lord
In the land of the living

Leave a Reply

