Stirring up an appetite

The time was around 3:30am on Thursday, and I was hungry.  I don’t usually wake up at 3:30, and I don’t usually feel hungry very often at all, even during the day.  I eat on a pretty steady schedule, and I usually eat enough protein and complex carbs to keep me full for a while.  While this was the first time I woke up in the middle of the night hungry, it wasn’t the first time I felt a stronger hunger than normal in the last few weeks.

Still, I was puzzled.

The only thing I can figure is that a more regular exercise routine (running several times a week as opposed to only when chased or playing with small children) has increased my metabolism, and my body is now informing me of a greater need for sustenance.

As I ran this morning, I realized that the same thing is true spiritually.  When I am regularly “eating” God’s Word by reading it, meditating on it, praying it, and living it, I long for more.  My hunger signals that my spiritual metabolism is increasing, and my desire grows.  The less I learn it and live it, the less I feel my need.

I’ve started eating more and more often (in part to prevent the mindless-eating-anything-because-I’m-“starving” response).  May my desire for the truth of God ever increase, too!

Leave a Reply

