When I Think About the Lord

When I think about the Lord
How He saved me, how He raised me
How He filled me with the Holy Ghost
How He healed me to the uttermost

When I think about the Lord
How He picked me up
Turned me around
How He set my feet
On solid ground

It makes me want to shout
Hallelujah! thank you, Jesus!
Lord, you’re worthy
Of all the glory, and all the honor
And all the praise!
Hallelujah! thank you, Jesus!
Lord, you’re worthy
of all the glory, and all the honor
and all the praise!

In Simply Christian (among other books), N.T. Wright reminds us that when we worship now, we are simply joining in the eternal worship that started long ago and continues day and night in heaven.  We invent nothing new; we create nothing novel.

But we do enter into that for which we were made, and in fulfilling our ultimate purpose, there is great satisfaction.  He initiates; we respond.  He does the heavy lifting, and just thinking about that makes me want to shout with all of creation.

You can listen to Shane and Shane sing this song here.

Leave a Reply

