It Stands

For He spoke, and it was done;

He commanded, and it stood fast.

The counsel of the LORD stands forever,

The plans of His heart from generation to generation.-Psalm 33:9,11

I had an interesting  unpleasant experience recently that left me a little shaken and fearful.  I’m not generally an anxious person, but I found myself dreading another occurrence.  I prayed and asked my family to pray, and God has answered those prayers.

Some anxiety lingered, and on Tuesday morning I had one of those delightful, new-life-out-of-oft-read-words experiences.  I hopped on the treadmill, got it started, and looked at the verses I’ve been meditating on lately.  The first one was Colossians 1:13.

For He rescued us from the domain of darkness, and transferred us to the kingdom of His beloved Son…

The comfort was clear as He spoke to my heart: “If I would rescue you from the domain of darkness, will I not protect you?”  The power of His Words cut the hold of anxiety, and my heart relaxed.

That’s not to say that I expect life to be roses and daffodils, peaches and cream.  I do expect that He Who rescued me from the domain of darkness and the oppression therein will cover me, provide refuge, keep me from fear, and protect me.

If I hadn’t been previously convinced that His Word stands powerfully, I would have been sure in that moment.  His Word stands, and I am delighted to let it stand in me!

Leave a Reply

