Scope and Sequence

Funny how there’s nothing new under the sun…and a lot of educational theory is applicable to spiritual life, too.  One (boring to some, fascinating to others) aspect of teaching is using the appropriate scope and sequence.  In normal-people language, that means what you teach and what order you use to teach it.  Practically, it means that we teach kids to count and recognize numbers before we ask them to add; we teach letter formation before punctuation.  The list could go on and on, but I’m sure you get the point.

I’ve been particularly grateful lately for the way God has the perfect scope and sequence for teaching me and changing me.  When I reflect on what He has done in the past and what He is doing in the present, His sovereignty is clear.  He doesn’t reveal too much at a time or deal with all of my issues at once.  Instead, He walks me through one situation and then another, guiding with His Word and the encouragement of His community. 

As a result, I trust that He has a plan in the present, just like He had a plan in the past, and I’m excited for what comes next.

Leave a Reply

