Mistakes

“It’s okay to make mistakes,” I tell my students. “If you take them as opportunities, you can learn quite a lot.  Besides,” I say, “everyone makes mistakes.”

And still…it’s hard to apply that advice to my own life.  When I have great intentions and realize it’s too late to follow through, or when I say things that make me cringe upon reflection, I swallow hard and pray for redemption and grace.

Then, on my better days, I ask what I can learn.  Today, Jesus’ admonition to “Judge not, that you be not judged” rings in my ears, and I return to a favorite prayer.

Leave a Reply

