“I saw in you…”

Somewhere between, “I knew the works of your hands” and “I saw in you what you didn’t see in yourself, and I knew what you were capable of.” lies the wisdom of a loving parent.

This story makes me cringe a little for the teacher involved, but I was struck as I heard it on the radio last week by the wisdom of this momma.

The more I thought about it, the more I came to appreciate not only the people (parents and others) who have seen in me what I haven’t seen in myself, but also a God Who created each of us with purpose.

He knows what we are capable of.  He knows the sin and brokenness that mar our lives- the “works of [our] hands,” and He knows what redemption can look like.  He knows His good plans for us and our desperate need for His intervention.

In the meantime, I like to reminisce about the “rides home”- times of discipline and correction, times of grace and encouragement- that the Father provides for His kids so we can fulfill His purposes and show what He is capable of.

Leave a Reply

