Losing Voice

My voice is gone.  It has been for a bit, and it’s happened before.  I am sure that soon, my vocal cords will come together properly and I will be speaking again.

There are cultures, though, that will never speak again.  Approximately every two weeks, the last speaker of an endangered language dies, and with that elder, a language.

Unlike my voice, that language will not be back.

To hear about the Huaroni tribe (also known as the tribe Jim Elliot, Nate Saint, and 3 other missionaries visited at the cost of their lives) go to 5:38 here.  Wade Davis also talks about the death of languages.

So I wonder…will these languages be represented around the throne?

One thought on “Losing Voice

  1. I just stumbled upon your site. May God richly bless you and your ministry for Him.
    You, and some of your readers, may be interested in a new book of transcribed messages of Jim Elliot (which I had the privilege to edit). It is called “JIM ELLIOT: A Christian Martyr Speaks to You” and contains convicting and life-changing content.
    Once again, it is my prayer that God will richly bless your efforts for Him.

Leave a Reply

