Jesus and a CT Scan

So…I’m voiceless again.  This is the sixth time since last May and the third time in four months.  My ENT is puzzled…as is my speech therapist…as are the rest of the people in my life who look at me with that “again?!” look. 🙂  Yes.  Again.

Now that I’ve tried lots of different ways to deal with this (everything from prayer, which continues, to steroids and speech therapy and more), it was time for a CT scan.

I’d never had a CT scan before Wednesday.  Generally speaking, new-to-me medical procedures don’t freak me out, but I was feeling a little anxious.  Then I read Hebrews 2:15.  Compared to death, a CT scan sounded positively wonderful!  Despite the fact that Jesus did not have access to a CT scanner when He was on earth, I figured that His ability to overcome the devil and the fear of death more than qualified Him to take care of me and my anxiety about a CT scan.

He did.  I laid in the machine, holding still and breathing deeply and thinking with each breath: “Jesus is with me.”  And He was.

He’s been there for many days of ultra-quiet teaching in my classroom and been there for people with troubles much greater than hoarseness.  Even if my anxiety is unnecessary, He is there.

One thought on “Jesus and a CT Scan

  1. Hi Angela,
    I am sorry to hear that you have lost your voice again. You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers and I hope that they can figure this thing out soon. I love your faith and trust in the Lord. Take care hon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

