Mercy for the Independent

Independence…it’s a good thing, right?

I’d like to think so.  My natural tendency is some odd combination of fiercely independent and people-pleasing rolled into one.  Neither option is healthy or God-glorifying, unfortunately.  (Oh, how I wish they were sometimes!)

Isaiah 30:18 has been one of my favorite verses for a long time.  As is normal for me, I returned to this chapter to let it sink in more; as is normal for God, He encouraged me through His Word.

The rest of the chapter is not exactly birthday songs and party hats.  God’s people had forgotten/ignored Him, tried to solve their own problems, and experienced trouble because of their choices.  Their biggest problem may have been their ardent desire to be independent.  He is still God, though.

“Therefore the LORD longs to be gracious to you,
And therefore He waits on high to have compassion on you.
For the LORD is a God of justice;
How blessed are all those who long for Him.”

In the midst of their independence and consequential trouble, God’s people heard truth based entirely on God’s character in the face of their abundant issues.

Maybe the reason this verse gets to me is the overwhelming kindness of God expressed here. In the face of my issues, His character remains.  He is gracious, compassionate, just, and patient, and He is the One I need!  Where I desire to be independent, He longs to be gracious. Where I want to have it all together and not need help, He is compassionate.  When I want things done yesterday, He blesses those who wait for Him.

Maybe dependence is a good thing…

Leave a Reply

