I wonder as I wander…really, on the wonder part

Not so much on the wander part.  It generally seems so pointless.

But I digress.  This old Christmas carol came to my attention last week when a local high school a capella  group came to sing at my school.  (Why it’s ok for them to sing clearly Christmas songs about Jesus, I’m not sure.  I am, however, glad that we got to hear them!)  

Ai yi yi- more digression.  This is what I get for writing at 12:15am.  

Anyway.  My students were sitting quietly, slightly enthralled by the music and therefore allowing me to focus on the music when I really listened to this song, maybe for the first time.  There’s a lot of gospel in this song- the sinful nature of man, the substitutionary atonement, the “promise of ages” fulfilled by Jesus’ birth, and the supremacy of Christ- to get started.

And yet…the point of the song includes and goes beyond the accurate theology. There’s something about taking the time to wonder and maybe, to wander under the sky, that brings my busy heart to worship.  Jesus the Saviour came to die for poor on’ry people like you and me.  That’s worth considering.

I wonder as I wander out under the sky
How Jesus the Saviour did come for to die
For poor on’ry people like you and like I;
I wonder as I wander out under the sky

When Mary birthed Jesus ’twas in a cow’s stall
With wise men and farmers and shepherds and all
But high from God’s heaven, a star’s light did fall
And the promise of ages it then did recall.

If Jesus had wanted for any wee thing
A star in the sky or a bird on the wing
Or all of God’s Angels in heaven to sing
He surely could have it, ’cause he was the King

Leave a Reply

