Like a tree…

You never know what you’ll learn while walking the dog.

This blustery afternoon,  Chamois (the sweet golden retriever I’m house sitting) and I went for a walk.  Trees shook and swayed in the wind, and I thought of Jesus’ words:

“The wind blows where it wishes and you hear the sound of it, but do not know where it comes from and where it is going; so is everyone who is born of the Spirit.”

-Jesus (John 3:8)

Trees are not the wind; trees are one way the wind becomes visible to onlookers.  My attention was caught today when the wind produced effects: swaying and sound in the trees.

The interesting thing was that some trees really didn’t move much.  The wind blew and blew and they stood still.  Others seemed to shudder at the slightest breeze.  As I watched the trees, though, my attention focused on the wind.

As I headed for home, my heart cry became a desire for sensitivity and flexibility: that when the wind of God’s Spirit blows, I would be quick to move and respond..

…that He might be glorified!

Leave a Reply

