The Way I Take

“But He knows the way I take;
When He has tried me, I shall come forth as gold.” (Job 23:10 NASB)

Meandering through Sitting in LA traffic today, this verse came to mind. As we begin a family vacation, maps apps and gps devices guided us out of the city and on toward our final destination. This “get through” mentality is typical of my time in LA throughout the last 10 years- I’m on the way to somewhere else, and generally, trying to get around the city center in an effort to expedite the trip.

As a result, I do not know LA. I can use technology and find my way in and out, but that’s about it. So it is with life. I do not know the way; I rely on One much greater Who does know this way. He shows me that there is purpose in the turns and twists, reasons for slow downs and pit stops. He has the end in mind, and it involves more endurance than I know but also more beauty than I see.

He knows the way I take.

Leave a Reply

