Dear Sher, (an open letter on the event of your graduation)

This weekend we celebrated your graduation from college. Instead of having an open house, we went to Great Wolf Lodge and played. I think it was a good choice.

You’re not the only one graduating, and this year marks ten years since I graduated from high school. I’ve been thinking about how different I am from the day I graduated from college, not to mention high school, and I want to warn you about what may be ahead. (I say may because we are two different people, despite looking like twins. :))

You may feel as smart right now as you ever will. That’s not to say that you are as smart as you will ever be. To the contrary- given your love of learning and desire to grow as a person physically, spiritually, emotionally, and mentally, you will certainly grow wiser and accumulate more knowledge than you currently have.

It’s just that the more you learn, the more you’ll discover that you don’t know. Every time you start a new job, or take on a new challenge, you’ll see a little more of the mystery. You may well master that mystery, but in the meantime, find another one around the corner.

Take it in stride, and don’t freak out. You’ll work hard, do what you need to do, come to the end of yourself, and that’s ok. If you go too long without realizing that you don’t know it all, take some time to bask in the grace you already know but may, on occasion, forget.

All this is to say that there’s a lot more grace than I knew when I graduated. Grace to be real with Jesus, real with yourself, and real with the people who love you- like me.

I love you, and I love that we get to journey through life together. If none of this applies to you, thanks in advance for grace.

Your big sister

Leave a Reply

