My relationship with running is, well, complicated. I

My relationship with running is, well, complicated.  

I have historically hated running; I say this with apologies to the many P.E. teachers throughout the years who prodded me through the mile run.  Since I started teaching, however, running has provided an outlet and an easy stress-relief method. About a year ago, I bought a pair of funky running shoes (thanks, Sher, for the tip and the trial with your pair!), and I now truly enjoy running.  

Sometimes, though it’s hard to stop running in life.  I might stop by a stream, but won’t take the time to remove my shoes and actually touch the water.

Image

But whether or not I step in, the water waits.  And when I do step in, I am changed.

The Water of Life- He is good.  When I just. sit. still. and take off my shoes and commit for a minute, I am not the same.  

It doesn’t mean the running is bad or the shoes are bad. They aren’t; they have their place.  But regardless of anything else, I need to sit still and let Him change me.

Leave a Reply

