Catch Up (not banana) Post

The title of this post comes from the fact that most ketchup here is made from bananas. I now have a legitimate reason to enter a McDonalds…they have real ketchup.

Aside from that, this post is my attempt to cross a few items off my ever-growing “Things to Blog About” list. While I am following the advice I give my students (to keep a list of ideas for writing), enough is enough. Here’s the low down (sp?) on the last few weeks of life. (*Warning: longish post ahead. Read at your own risk!*)

20130810-202732.jpg

I finished prepping my classroom and have now taught third grade (and only third grade- weird!) for 6 days. Each day gets better than the last as I get to know my little team and they get to know me. One of the fun things about having a few years of experience is that I know what kind of community I want my class to become, but I get to discover what that will look like for the 25 of us this year.

20130810-203033.jpg

The couch seems to be a big hit. This was part of our first day- we did a chalk talk about all sorts of things, including:

20130810-203150.jpg
According to one student, a great teacher is “strikt.” According to another, a great teacher is “not strict.” They’re stuck with me this year regardless. 🙂

20130810-203331.jpg

Florence has been an amazing help in getting to church. Last Sunday, we took an FX (imagine a smallish SUV with bench seats in the cargo area), buses, a trike, a jeepney, and the train to get to and from church. She’s also helping me improve my Tagalog!

20130810-203525.jpg

Tagalog is phonetic and therefore quite easy to decode. It’s a great lesson in the difference between reading and decoding- I can sing along to songs I know while reading the words but have no idea what I’m saying! We sang “Count Your Blessings” a few weeks ago as the rain poured- and I mean poured so hard you could hardly hear a person speaking- down on the tin roofs around us. Blessed we are, indeed.

20130810-203758.jpg
Why, you may ask, is there a picture of a door handle? This is the door to the upstairs bathroom (CR for comfort room here) that Amanda and I share at home. It is the door that got stuck- shut tight- while Amanda was inside. This is door on which we broke the head off of a hammer while trying to get her out, and the door that almost got whacked open with a cast-iron frying pan. Thankfully, Nicole pried the door open with the broken hammer head first. Ahhhh…just like the ads say, everything is more fun in the Philippines!

20130810-204107.jpg
I’ll leave you with this and head for bed! Good night!

Leave a Reply

